Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms (907-960)

Tang's collapse was followed by fifty-some yeas of chaos.  In this period, known as the Age of Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms, fifteen regimes emerged in quick succession.  Listed below are the five dynasties and the cities where they set up capital.

  Period City Province
  Five Dynasties      
  Latter Liang 907-923 Kaifeng Henan
  Latter Tang 923-936 Kaifeng & Luoyang Henan
  Latter Jin 936-946 Kaifeng Henan
  Latter Han 947-950 Kaifeng Henan
  Latter Zhou 951-960 Kaifeng Henan